Winter Lane

I was starting to think, hoping really, that this was going to be the last image of snow I was going to get this year and then we had more snow showers earlier this week.  Natures way of telling us that there’s still a chance of more snow yet!  I would love to visit Cades Cove in the Smokies and make my own image of the lane that I’ve seen done by so many other people.  Unfortunately my on-going commitments means that it will be a while before I get to do that trip.  Instead I continue to look for opportunities closer to home.  I noticed this lane when I was out hiking one weekend and I’ve been returning to make a series of photographs from this spot that show the changes with the seasons.  I now have two of Winter and will work in the coming year to complete the set with good images of Spring, Summer and Fall.

2 thoughts on “Winter Lane

  1. Andy, this is a lovely shot, and I love the leading lines and the b/w treatment. How jealous I am of gorgeous scenes like this in New England, since I’m a Connecticut Yankee by birth, and I went to college in Boston. Of course, the south is just becoming springlike and gorgeous, but I love the peaceful nature of snow shots. However, I DO hope that you warm up soon…it’s time for the Red Sox! I love shots of the same place in different seasons, and you’re off to an amazing start.

  2. Cindy,

    Many thanks for your kind comments. It certainly feels like it’s been a long winter here in the Northeast but I’m finally able to see the grass again. It’s been a while! I’m looking forward to Spring’s arrival here, warmer weather and the start of baseball season. Not too long now. I’m trying to come up with a good Spring project. I have my eye on a house up the road that usually has a great crop of spring flowers, although I’m not sure that they will appreciate me crawling around on their lawn first thing in the morning!

Leave a Reply

