The Simple Secret

I’m continuing to explore my understanding of composition by learning about how painters think about the issue. I recently bought ‘The Simple Secret to Better Painting‘ by Greg Albert that I thought would give me the answer to all my problems. Although I’ve only had a chance to quickly go through the book and it has already been a help. There’s not a lot of new information here for anyone who’s studied composition much at all but Albert’s “One Rule of Composition’ is a nice twist that can really help cut through, what I find to be a complex, rule laden subject.

One of the things that I feel I need to do is slow down and really look before I leap into action. The section an alphabet of landscape composition was useful for me and I will certainly take the time to look for letters and shapes the next time I’m out in the field. Equally helpful was the chapter that dealt with setting up still lifes. This is something that I am interested in, particularly in the summer months, and having some basic instruction in their set up will help my thinking about my ‘Found on the Beach’ series. All in all worth a read.

2 thoughts on “The Simple Secret

  1. Thank you for taking the time to read it. All in all, I felt it was the back bone to my going furthur and I keep going back to it when I don’t understand what another composition book teaches and find I was trying to be TOO TECHNICAL. Composition is not that hard. We make it hard. The still life section, like you say, makes still life set up do-able.

    • I’m with you Leslie – composition isn’t that hard, but many photographers use composition rules as things that are etched in stone and it must be this way. In photography, or at least my kind of photography, I’m trying to eliminate as much as I can. Just to get rid of all the stuff that detracts from that which first caught my eye can have a dramatic effect on the outcome. I am enjoying learning about the sensibilities that painters bring to the canvas and it is indeed helping.

Leave a Reply

